Best of City Search 2008 - Haircolorsalon.com
 


 

 

Customer Testimonials

160 West Portola Ave. Los Altos 94022

408.661.2055

Wed. thru Sat. 10am - 7pm

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

 
 Testimonials from Yelp
 
Photo of Donna R.
  • 0friends
  • 1review

San Jose, CA

5.0 star rating
 Update - 12/24/2012

BEST HAIR COLOR & CUT IN THE WORLD. Hi my name is Donna & for the first time in my life I have the look of top model hair. The color & cut is so amazing & done to perfection every time. My bangs are wispy & fluffy just the way I love it.  The way Anh (the owner) blow dry's my hair is just like a model on the cover of a high class magazine, that I make sure its date night to show it off. She has 100% got rid of all my gray hair. With her there is no attitude just the satisfaction of you looking perfect! Because of her I have been in heaven for the last 4 years. I am real customer and if need to, you can call Anh to talk to me, please do. That's how impressed I am with her.

1 Previous Review: Show all »

  • 5.0 star rating
    10/7/2012

    10/7/2012
    Donna R.
    San Jose, CA

    BEST HAIR COLOR & CUT IN THE WORLD. Hi my name is Donna & for the first… Read more »

Photo of Michelle b.
  • 0friends
  • 1review

Sonoma, CA

5.0 star rating
 12/4/2012

This is amazing salon. Anh is the best. You come to her salon, she makes you feel like at home, you feel comfortable and pampered. You always leave the salon with great hair. GREAT SERVICE.

Photo of Nikki H.
  • 0friends
  • 1review

Goleta, CA

5.0 star rating
 11/28/2012

I am super excited about the Brazilian Blowout that I got at Hair Color Salon. I used to have to blow dry and straighten my hair which took up so much time in the morning. Now I just let it air dry and it's straight, silky, and looks great. Anh (the owner of Hair Color Salon) did an amazing job. She was friendly, organized, and worked very carefully and fast. I would definitely recommend this salon and their awesome Brazilian Blowout!

Photo of Tom N.
  • 0friends
  • 1review

Los Altos, CA

5.0 star rating
 10/7/2012

I have been gone to Anh for a few years. Every time I see her, I have been so happy with the results. Anh always takes time to create a beautiful job on my hair. She always treats me so special and I feel so pamper. Anh is so good with what she does,  specially her coloring highlight skills and wonderful hair cuts. I highly recommend her.

Photo of Eric C.
  • 54friends
  • 2reviews

San Jose, CA

5.0 star rating
 6/10/2011

I'm a huge fan of Hair Color Salon. Anh has always been gracious and sweet and considerate and she knows her stuff. She keeps notes on cut and color and always has great suggestions. I love the new location and the layout - much more personal and inviting. 

Give her a try!

1 to 5 of 5  

 
 
 
5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended
 
 

01/18/10

BEST HAIR SALON

by Elara at Citysearch

I LOVE this place! HAIR COLOR SALON is simply amazing! I have been to numerous hair salons and none of their hairstylist has been able to make my hair the way I want it. I Googled "BEST HAIR SALONS" and HAIR COLOR SALON was first on the list. I was lucky to get Anh Hodges and she did an FANTASTIC job!! She spent 4 hours on my hair (I have long hair) and the results and just wonderful. I love my hair!! Anh you just got yourself a new customer!!!! If you want your hair to look a certain way and no hairstylist has met your expectations... Please try HAIR COLOR SALON I promise you will be amazed with your outcome.

  • Pros: Beautiful Highlights
Photo of Laurie C. 

Laurie C.

San Jose, CA

5/7/2009

Though I was happy with my previous hair stylist, I felt like my hair needed a new color approach. So, I did a Google search for "Hair color specialist in San Jose" and up popped Hair Color Salon. After reading through all of the reviews I decided to call Anh to give it a try.

The appointment was a long one, longer than I expected. This is because I have never had a proper color consultation before. Anh pulled out books of color swaths, hair samples, etc. to get the base color and the highlights just right for me. After the color and cut she then showed me a unique way to blow dry my hair to give it more volume.

The result: I absolutely love the color, highlights, and cut. One of my friends told me she loves the color (unprompted) and that it's the best she's ever seen it. Then she asked me where I went so that she could go there too

 

Beautiful Color with Great Service

4/3/09

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

by Mz Marie at Citysearch

I have never experienced such great customer service until I went to Hair Color Salon. The time Jaimie took to make sure she understood exactly what I wanted. Overall I had a great experience and would recommend this place to my girlfriends.

  • Pros: Close to my work, reasonable prices
  • Cons: Parking an issue

 

 5 Star Rating: Highly RecommendedGreat Color and style.
by veve
March 20, 2009
I have curly, thick, and hard to color hair..yet Anh has met the standard. This salon has always showed me excellent customer service, and her staff is so sweet. I can never seem to match Anh's and her staffs style dry. I recommend Anh for her expertise on color. She will accommodate your head of hair, meet your hair color needs and gives what you are looking for.
Pros: Anh has the color know how.
Cons: Downtown Parking.... but they do validate 


Best Hair Cut in Town5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended
by Robertson3469
March 06, 2009

When Anh is done with your hair it moves and glides with you. She makes sure she spends the time to get it right. I recieve more compliments on my hair since Anh has been cuting and coloring my hair. The color is always complimentary to my skin tones and she changes it up a bit for the seasons, summer to winter. I love it when Anh does my hair. Thanks Anh!!!!

Pros: Awesome


2/18/2009 Kristina C.5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended
Sunnyvale, CA


I called up Friday afternoon, and got an appointment the same day for a haircut. Danny talked me into a few highlights as well, and within two hours I had an amazing hair style with perfectly natural-looking highlights. I love it. Really good service, friendly stylists, central location, I have nothing bad to say at all. They don't take personal checks, but credit cards are accepted.


2/16/2009 Reanna B.5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended
San Jose, CA


For my birthday I went to get my hair done at Hair Color Salon. The place was clean and the owner, Anh was well informed about hair and translated everything that was not said in English by the staff to me. After awhile she asked, "What happened to your eyebrows?" The state of my eyebrows was Quasimodoish at best from the job another place had done the day before. She felt so bad for me that she cleaned them up for free. How nice was that? My hair cut was pretty good too. Although, they do offer a discount for yelp reviews they don't say they have to be good ones, and I don't think I will go back anytime soon. It is not close enough to my house, and I am going to a salon in Campbell now that I can walk to.


12/7/2008 k n.5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended
Burlingame, CA


I found that the same problem i had previously happened again.  I went in to talk to the Salon owner and she agreed that i should come back in a few months after the crease has grown out so that they could fix the area.  She also agreed that she would do it free of charge but that if the problem were to persist that i would have to pay-  I thought this was a very reasonable agreement.  they were all very nice and polite and seemed genuinely confused about what was going on with my hair...hopefully once it moves away from the root the crease will not return.


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

11/06/2008 Posted by 2Nordic

Recently I was needing to get my hair-highlighted. I called in the morning and Anh graciously worked me in that same day. I was impressed by how she and her team treated me like a VIP(especially being served a plate cheese/crackers and grapes-very tasty). The salon has a day spa feel. What is more important is that my hair color turned out fabulous! Can't wait to go back to be pampered and get my haircut.



5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

11/02/2008 Posted by michreev

I did everything I was "supposed" to do before my wedding...I went to the same hair dresser I had gone to for years. I got my hair colored in the same way and I was sure to go 2 weeks before my wedding just to be safe. Despite that I came out with green, bright yellow and orange spots all over my head! Needless to say, I was desperate. I found Hair Color Salon online and decided to give it a try. Anh and her team spent over 5 hours fixing my hair, sometimes working in groups of 2 or 3! She missed her own birthday party an kept the shop open late to be sure my hair was perfect for my wedding. It was nothing short of a miracle, and I am a convert now...I wouldn't think of going anywhere else.


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

10/20/2008 Posted by lugchi

I've been going to HCS for almost 6 months now. Every single time I go there, I come out of it feeling and looking great. Staff of HCS is the friendliest and nicest in whole San Jose. They will make sure to make your visit as pleasurable as possible. Of course Anh does an amazing job with colour and hair cuts. I get a lot of complements on my hair now. HCS has a 1 week guarantee, so if you don't like your colour they will redo it for you. Which is great, because it makes you feel somewhat safe, knowing that you won't have to run to another salon and spend another X amount of $ to correct the colour. I also like their VIP room for manicure and pedicures. Try it! If you had stressful week/day this will make you forget about things. I go to Vickie for manicures/fill ins. She has 20 years of experience and does an awesome job! To sum up, on my Birthday this year I went to HCS and got my hair,nails and massage done. And the ladies at the salon made sure that I'd feel like a birthday girl :-) It was quite a treat :-)

 


 5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended
10/8/2008 k n.
Burlingame, CA

I went here after a REALLY blotched hair straightening job i had done at a salon in SF.  My hair was depressing.  the other salon managed to make DENTS in my hair because they didnt apply the solution correctly and over processed my hair.  I spoke to Anh and she took a look at my hair under magnification to determine that it was salvageable.
Kim worked on my hair and she did an amazingly thorough job!  She checked and rechecked constantly to make sure that my hair was handling the solution without having any more breakage.  I was amazed at how great my hair turned out afterwards.  Thank god they were able to fix it!


 Great color and customer service 5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

10/07/2008 Posted by Bishop23

I love this salon. Everyone there is so nice and unpretentious. I went there the first time for correctional coloring, I had had colored my own hair and it turned black, Ahn, the owner, pulled all the black out and made it a wonderful auburn-brown. I went again because I wanted to lighten my hair and again she did a great job, she listened to what I wanted and delivered better than my expectations. As long as I’m in San Jose area this will be the salon I go to.


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

 An Excellent Cut

09/18/2008 Posted by cassiec2042

This unassuming storefront houses great talent. I came to Anh the day after getting possibly the worst haircut imaginable. Anh was able to do an excellent rescue job and has been cutting my hair since. As she is the proprietress, her attention is in high demand: expect her to get called away. But don't let it put you off, she has done beautiful work with my hard to manage hair. Definitely make an appointment, and if you can manage to go on a weekday, it's much less crowded.


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

 Top notch Hair Salon

09/02/2008 Posted by joyc3

I have always been very choosy when it comes to hair care and dont just walk-in to any random hair salon unless I've done my research and read through reviews/testimonials about the place. And this salon I could definitely say is worth going to because Ann's team of experts will really take care of your hair. I had my hair straigthened and colored and I am beyond satisfied with the result. Its been 4months now and my hair still straight and smooth. And today I'm coming back to get a hair cut and color. So to anyone who's new to the area, like me who's very skeptical about where to go, youll never regret trying out Hair Care Salon - the Best in Downtown San Jose.

Pros: Free Parking Validation, Cozy ambience, Hospitable Staff, Great hair products


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

 Amazing Experts in Color and Cuts

08/08/2008 Posted by twinklelittle88

I just moved here from Texas and tried 3 other salons before I finally got my color and cut done right by Ann at Hair Color Salon. When I went to see Ann I had so many bad experiences at 3 other color salons that I thought I would have to fly back to Texas to get my hair done. She did an amazing job and corrected the color that was hideous and brassy, she also gave me a beautiful soft cut ~ that was natural looking and not choppy. She did exactly what I asked for with the color. No surprises or unexpected results. I've been going to her for 4 months now and I've seen other clients walk in with horrible color from other places. No matter what they've done to your hair & color, Ann and her team can fix it! I've seen it for myself. They are professional and give you lots of personal attention. Free WiFi too! I'll never go to another salon again! I've found my perfect Hair Color Expert!

Pros: Color, Accessibility, Centrally located, Comfortable

Cons: None

 

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

 great overall experience

08/06/2008 Posted by xxjuliaxx

i have been looking for a good hair salon since i moved to the bay area; and after going to several different ones, this is the only one that i actually like and have been back for a second visit. vivian is a really cool stylist. i went for color & haircut, and was satisfied with the result. the overall service was professional & friendly, and the price was reasonable.


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

YA HAIR DESERVES THEIR TREATMENT  

07/31/2008 Posted by desaibaba

Hey guyz, I m Kunal Desai and here i m writin a review 4 Hair Colour Salon in which i first had my HAIR Straightened and then My Hair Coloured PERMANENTLY. I just found this place when i searched on internet as i was really serious 2 straighten and colour ma hair. Actually i visited many places and inquired about the rates and the quality of the work done from my different friends. out of 10 reviews i did approximately, 8 of them told me 2 go 4 Hair Colour Salon and today i feel that i've got my money worth. All the ladies includin ANN r so comfortable with ya and simultaneously they work on ya hair so effortlessly that ya don't even feel that they r actually workin on ya hair. Also the Mastery of everybody includin ANN is awsome and the rates they take for colourin, straightenin r comparitively less than other competition in San Jose but at the same time the work done is not Halfhazard but worth ya each penny spent. Also, one more thing i like about this place is that ya get the feelin like home once these ladies start the wrok. They r so calm and professional in their work that if ya spend 5 hours in the salon, ya'll feel like ya spend 5 mins. They talk with ya in the middle of the work but at the same time never distract from their job and that quality is the 1 which i like the best in this place. ANN specially is a Genius when it comes 2 hair colouring. Also, this place is having good deals for regular customers like if ya recomend the place to your friends then ya can also get some discount on your next visit and likewise many other deals. So i highly reccomend this place to the folks down there who want quality service and treatment with their hair and that too with good deals and prices.

Pros: Excellent Craftsmanship

Cons: Vietnamese Language Converstations Between Staff


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

07/09/2008 Posted by vivekd

this was my first time in Bay area. So i had no idea of a good salon in the vicinity. I googled online and i could see maximum hits for this salon. First I was to skeptical but after reading the reviews I decided to go for a hair cut. Anh is one of the really very good stylists. I left it up to her to give me a good style and asked me about a particular style form the Styling book she had. And too my surprise she cut my hair almost similar to one showed in the book. Unlike other stylist, who don't bother about every detail, Anh spent lot of time for the details and texturing. I am really satisfied with my hair cut and would suggest it to other as well.


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

06/05/2008 Posted by olaolga

A friend of mine recommended I see Anh for a hair color consultation. I am a do-it myself person and used store bought coloring for a long time. I tried to have it done professionally, but the result was not that different from what I could do myself. Anh won my trust by providing a professional evaluation and color advise pointing out things that no other hair professional brought out. So I took a chance... I must say - it was better than I could ever imagine! Anh is worth every penny! Try her cuts too!!! Five star plus!

Pros: Convenient location

Cons: downtown parking


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

05/24/2008 Posted by ltasaki

I had long, rusty dark brown flat hair so thought i should be blond for the summer. I just returned back to the bay so I didn't have my colorist on hand. I ended googling color specialist and read all the great reviews about this place. I went for a consultation and Anh really knew what would be the right colors for my hair to be dark blond. During my color she really spent the extra time and hair smarts to give it its amazing color. She looked at my hair and decided to use different developers on different parts of my hair. On the roots she had used 20, mid hair 30 and bottoms 40. Then on top of that she weaved in different colors. The outcome was amazing and highly recommend Hair Color Salon to anybody that wants to have a pro who spends the time and effort to do their hair:)


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

05/23/2008 Posted by emiko992

So I've been to many salons through out the bay area including upscale snooty salons...I have to say that experience is what counts. Immediately I could tell that the stylist was very experienced, and knew her stuff. I had color correction from blue black to medium brown, and it turned out great! I will definitely will be going back.


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

05/10/2008 Posted by LovCD14

Anh was really attentive to what I was wanting to do with my hair, both with the style as well as the color. She made sure to take the time to show me how I could do the same style at home. However, as much as I liked her, there were some cons: 1.) She is a busy woman--the whole time I was there, she kept having to put me to the side for a few minutes to deal with phone calls and setting up appointments, or she was doing someone elses hair. 2.) I didn't like being passed off to someone else---I think she was training, I am not quite sure, but when it comes to hair I went to her because I wanted someone experienced, not someone learning, its why I was willing to spend 150.00. She did return and finished me herself, but it was still the principle of the matter. 3.) I didn't like the attempt to sell me something I didnt really want, nor can I afford--While Anh was finishing me up, someone else came over and started telling me I should do a facial and learn to do my makeup etc--Now I don't wear that much makeup, but I also don't want someone who is wearing as much makeup as this woman was wearing "showing" me how to do makeup. I do just fine. They knew I was unemployed as Anh asked what I did for work in attempt to make convo, so why try selling me additional expensive services I cant afford. Now despite the cons, I love my hair so much that I would probably return to Anh.

Pros: Good work

Cons: Attempts to sell more services, downtown parking---they will pay for 2 hrs of parking though


 

 

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

04/30/2008 Posted by Meshell923

Best Hair Salon in San Jose. Warm and friendly atmosphere, genuine helpfulness, good humor, and amazing haircuts. I just moved to San Jose and was in dire need of a haircut; it is always a scary thing trying a new salon. Angela (Front desk) recipient was extremely helpful and kind in directing me towards what kind of cut I should receive. Anh, made hair cutting an art form all in itself. I have never had the pleasure of seeing someone so focused and visionary at their work. Without even a lunch break, Anh devoted her time and creativity. My hair cut was amazing—best I have had yet—I was transformed, from ragged, un-even, split-ended hair, to beautiful curls, to chic style. I would, without hesitation, recommend this salon to anyone looking for an artistic, unique haircut. Hair Color Salon!!! -Michelle Broderick


 

 

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

04/29/2008 Posted by crazy4color

Back in the middle of January i went to Hair Color Salon. I found the salon on google. I came in with a friend and we both wanted to get our hair done and thats all we planned on getting done! So we both meet Danny, he was a nice gentlemen and he asks us what we wanted to do with our hair, as for me i wanted some pink & gold :) and for her she wanted to go blonde..! so he helped my friend first and while i waited i had gotten a pedicure & manicure with Vickey.. She did an great job with my nails and she was real fun to talk to she was real nice and funny.. So after i had my nails done i went to get a nice soothing facial by anh i think and it was real relaxing.. After that i went to get my hair done and it came out FABOLOUS! lol. i loved it! And my friend hair came out real cute. Then after our hair was done we went to do some tanning. We chose the standing up tanning booth, it worked good because we came back for some more tanning appointments and we came out a lil tanned! lol. I enjoyed having my hair done and they do a great job. They offer alot of varieties of beauty services and its all worth the money! :) Thanks guys!! i think im looking on coming back for another appointment soon!!! -k.b.

Pros: BEST for hair color and hair supplies, Great service... ect.

Cons: Parking


 

 

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

04/20/2008 Posted by dmchina94

I initially called early Saturday and inquired if there were any appts avail for a cut and maybe a color (thinking I may be able to at least get a cut, my ends need it desperately!). I spoke to Angela (I believe that was her name), and she said the only time she had was 4 pm, unfortunately this conflicted with another appt I had. She said that she would call back when she had a time open for me. She did call back (great!) and told me that there was an opening the next day (Sunday) at noon. I was really happy that she was able to find a time slot for me! I did question this, as the website states they are closed on Sunday (there are no hours listed). She said no, and stated that she would not be in "tomorrow", but Danny would be there and he would do a great job. I thanked her. Anyway...I showed up on Sunday on time for my apt and there was NO ONE THERE!!! I knocked on the door, thinking they did not unlock the door or something and I called twice! Still no one! I waited approx 10-15 min (just in case they were running late - hey it happens) and before I drove home, I drove by the store, still not a light on and it looked like there was no one there. You can be sure after this experience, I am not going back! Thanks for wasting an hour of my Sunday!

 

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

Response from this business

Response... No Show Appt. Follow Up.
Posted on 04/23/2008
Hello. This is Angela. On behalf of Hair Color Salon, we would like to apologize for your inconvenience on Sunday. Our stylist quickly stepped out to later find out he missed you. As our best stylist and owner, Anh Hodges will personally assure and satisfy all your hair needs at NO CHARGE. Please call to schedule your next appointment at Hair Color Salon: T. 408-294-9562 I am confident that you will have the PROFESSIONAL & PERSONAL attention deserved. Best Wishes. Angela Frenkel Hair Color Salon 54 W. Santa Clara St. 408-294-9562 www.haircolorsalon.com

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

03/13/2008 Posted by LindaSue1

Anh was very helpful when I was trying to decide if I wanted to go gray. I was tired of trying to hide my gray hair every month with professional hair coloring. Ahn was able to make suggestions and we both decided that it was worth trying to color my hair with a blend of my lightest gray with adding in touches of my darkest color. It turned out looking great and I recieve compliments on a regular basis. Ahn went out of her way to accommodate me even when the appointment went on much longer then we both had planned. I will continue to go back to Anh for her skill and her warmth.

Pros: Warm staff

Cons: Parking is difficult


 

 

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

03/10/2008 Posted by AHair

Ann is wonderful! I took my boyfriend in for a hair cut, not knowing what to expect, and it was his best cut EVER! Ann works with her clients and helps them figure out what works best for them. Always busy, but that is good, because she deserves it! I recently got my hair cut from her and it has lasted such a long time! I love my hair again! I will definatly continue to see her.

Pros: Great cut/color/people

Cons: Parking


 

 

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

01/30/2008 Posted by ShelbyLReeves

I have been going to Anh at Hair Color Salon for 4 months now and I am very pleased with the service, skill, and comfort of this salon. In the summer of 2007 I got my hair done at a salon in Santa Cruz and the stylist completely screwed up my hair. I have long blond (two toned) hair. I went in to get my roots done and my hair trimmed. The stylist left brown, bronze, and orange splotched around my roots and left me under the dryer too long causing a lot of breakage. I was very upset because I take very good care of my hair and now there was serious damage to it. I did a lot of research for new salons and was told to go to Ahn at Hair Color Salon by 2 different people. I thought I would give it a try and I'm very thankful I did. Ahn spent 4 hours on my hair the first time I saw her. She took her time to fix my color and deep condition my hair to help with the damage. She is a perfectionist and will take as long as needed to make your hair exactly as you want it. I have recommended numerous people to her because I trust that she will do a good job.

Pros: Great service and skilled stylists. Anh is the best!

Cons: Parking, somewhat pricey (but worth it in the end)


 

 

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

01/17/2008 Posted by msfannon

The service was unbeatable, great results. I highly recommend this salon for hair coloring, and they do a great haircut as well. I showed my colorist a picture from a magazine and she got it spot on! I love it when it works out that way.

Pros: They validate parking

Cons: Parking downtown can be difficult


 

 

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

12/27/2007 Posted by chrstina4u29

The atmosphere is very friendly I get a lot of compliments and have referred friends to the salon. -- I have also gotten pedicures there and they do a great job.


 

 

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

11/26/2007 Posted by ccwriter

Anh is an artist with hair, no doubt about it. A co-worker introduced me to Hair Color Salon and Anh and I'm forever in her debt. That was about seven years ago; at the time I was spending a lot of time and money getting my hair colored. I was tired of doing that and decided to try going all grey. Anh helped me with the transition (for a while I was a blonde!) and I couldn't be happier. Anh is very creative and comes up with some great styles -- I get a lot of compliments and have referred friends to the salon. The atmosphere is very friendly -- I have also gotten pedicures there and they do a great job.

Pros: convenient location in downtown San Jose; validated parking

Cons: can't think of any!


 

 

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

11/08/2007 Posted by chirose

Amazing, outstanding, makes you look your best. I have never had a hair dresser who will call you to the next day or so to confirm that you are really happy with the way you look. Danny has been doing my hair for over 3 years. He is the best! hands down, you have to get an appointment with him and he will make you walk out feeling better than you have in years. Loyal customer for life! CH


 

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

11/01/2007 Posted by imgonza

I discovered Anh at a small shop about 15 years ago while I was having my nails done. I watched her skill at cutting hair and I knew then that she had the skills to really go far in the business. I had always been picky about my hair and since Anh began to color and cut my hair---I would never go to anyone else! I have seen her business grow with happy new clients and a great staff as well. I like the way she stays informed about new hair processes so that she and her staff are able to offer many new services to customers. They are all very skilled and friendly! The shop is clean and brightly decorated! I would highly recommend Hair Color Salon for anyone!


 

 

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

10/13/2007 Posted by ysette9

I called up Saturday afternoon, and got an appointment the same day for a haircut. Danny talked me into a few highlights as well, and within two hours I had an amazing hair style with perfectly natural-looking highlights. I love it. Really good service, friendly stylists, central location, I have nothing bad to say at all. They don't take personal checks, but credit cards are accepted.


 

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

09/27/2007 Posted by anarr

I was a bit tentative about straightening my hair but I must say that the professional attitude of Anh and her staff made me feel at ease right away. During this long procedure Anh was meticulous about the various steps making sure that each step was done correctly and she paid great attention to detail. The overall result was fabulous and I would highly recommend Anh and her salon to anyone looking for superior quality hair services.


 

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

09/25/2007 Posted by misskatz

Going to the Hair Color Salon was the best experiance i have ever had in hair!!!! I went for Japanese Hair Straighting and Anh and her team exceeded my highest expectations for hair beauty and quality!!!!!! I still have beautiful, pin straight and simply AMAZING hair. They gave me a really cute hair cut too!!!!! i look much better than i used to and i spend almost no time doing my hair in the morning!!! More then ten people commented on my hair (positivily) when i went back to school the next day. Some one even said i looked like a model!!!!!! i would very very very highly reccomand this to anyone ... this is now the ONLY place i will go to for hair!!!!!

Pros: location, amazing staff, beautiful hair, .... just about everything

Cons: none


 

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

09/25/2007 Posted by tasha42

I was a bit nervous about getting my curly hair chemically straightened, especially since the price range for the Japanese straightening was so steep. However, I feel that I got great quality for the cost. I spent about 7 hours in the salon, but it barely felt like two. The stylists were friendly and sociable, and I had a great time. My hair is completely straight - it was a miraculous change - and I look forward to washing it just to see how straight it will be. All in all, a great experience, and I would definitely do it again! Highly recommended.

Pros: Friendly stylists, great atmosphere


 

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

09/25/2007 Posted by priyanka1473

Absolutely the best hair salon, great service, your hair ends us looking like you envision....no surprises. I have been a customer for over 11 years and do not have a reason to look elsewhere. Very friendly hairdressers. They are also extremely talented and creative. Will work with you to create that look you want!

Pros: Value for money, friendly staff, parking lot across the street

Cons: none


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

great haurcut and style

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

09/09/2007 Posted by happysunshine

I got a great and stylish haircut from Leslie at Hair Color Salon. I had a bad haircut from another salon which I needed professional help with. Leslie listened to what I wanted and took the time to make the haircut fit my style. Also, she recommended hairproducts that would work for my sundamaged and over dryed hair. I went out on a date with my husband the night I got my haircut, and he just loved it. She styled it so that it look polished yet carefree and casual. I paid $55 for my haircut. which is a lot for me, but my haircut was totally worth it...all the layers are cut nicely and they all fall into place. What a great place. Plus, they validate your parking, which is really nice and convenient.


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

GREAT customer service, INCREDIBLE results...

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

09/01/2007 Posted by camieee27

I had my hair done with outrageous highlights done by Vivian back in April and came back wanting more. Vivian is a great hair stylist because of her dedication to work with you to get the right color you want and getting it done. Her patience shines through and her ability to make you feel comfortable is what makes you feel at ease knowing tha she knows what she is doing. Vivian takes every effort to make sure you are satisfied with your hair no matter what. If you're not happy, she is always willing to suggest something new and/or try something else. PROS: Vivian and the rest of the staff are always welcoming CONS: A little bit pricy (especially since I'm a college student), but again, you get what you pay for. :)


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

Give her a try and believe me you will not regret it!!!

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

08/23/2007 Posted by swtaznbeb33

Where do I start. I been into the fashion world of makeup, hair, clothes and every little details that comes along with beauty. I would say the best part of beauty is my hair. Hair makes me express who i am whether I'm trying to make a fashion statement or just going to a wedding. Vivian has been my hair stylist since i was in the Highschool. Never once she made me dissappointed about what she has choosen to do on my hair. The color the cut always fit with my spunkie personality. I appreciate her taking her time to talk and show me as a customer she care about how i wanted to look like. Her great personality shine through and show that she was passionate about her career as a stylist. Not only did she had great stories to share with me as a client , but her humor and swt sense of personality showed what type of person she is. I'm a very picky person when it comes down to my hair because i cant do anthing else to hide it. Having beautiful hair makes me feel beautiful with in. If Vivian can make me feel beautiful i know she can make u feel twice as young and youthful. To be honest, i never brush my hair when i'm off to work or school because It just looks good the way it falls on my face with the cut and style she choose. Vivian has a great personality so sweet and understandable towards me as a client. Never once did i feel uncomfrontable with her.Many of my friends and random customers at my restaurant always stop me to compliment and asked where i get my hair done. Dont worry i even recommend the most picky person i known for years who was skeptical about dying her hair because she feels like she's losing hair, but i reassure her that Vivian will make her a satisfied person and sure enough she was very very happy with the outcome of her new hair color and cut. Nonetheless, i'm always satisfied myself times a hundred with my color and cut. Vivian has the magic finger and its very powerful. What you pay for is what you get. =]]]. Excellent service


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

Cut and color makes me look young and stylish

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

08/03/2007 Posted by esme5

Hair Color Salon is the best! It was recommended by a workmate, and I thought "here we go again". Was I thrilled with my cut and color!! I've stayed with this salon about 9 years. The staff is so friendly, and there is never any pressure. What I like about Anh is that she helps me pick a new style whenever I got tired of the old one; she worked with my ideas and never forced her own. I always had many compliments from co-workers and friends. Several times people stopped me on the street in my neighborhood to ask me where I get my hair done. Only a few times, when out of town, have I gone to another salon. It was always disappointing. I'm spoiled !! I love my hair cut, color, and that young, stylish feeling.


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

This salon makes the impossible, possible!

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

06/16/2007 Posted by souzan

If Ann could do my hair, she is capable of doing anyone's hair...I got my highlights somewhere else in December and it was so bad that I had to go cover it with my natural color , dark brown... but it came out black...Imagine highlighting a black hair...Ann did it and it looks great...she spent over 5 hours on my hair and kept checking on it every 5 minutes...I love my highlights...I found out about Ann's salon from seeing someone's hair at school and that person found Ann from seeing another person's hair at school also...her work is so good that it is noticeable, and stands out from everyone else’s. I am not related to Ann and I am not trying to write a review to make this salon look good....but if you are looking for a salon that you could trust and go to on regular bases, this is the one....If you are young and reading this, Ann knows all about the new hair styles and colors.....VERY STYLISH

Pros: Friendly staff, you won't get bored there...they have access to the newest hair styles and colors....very up to date


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

**Greatest Place for Your Styling Needs**

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

06/10/2007 Posted by geetus

Being an "extremely picky SOB" about my hair, I was excited to see a new neighbor moving in several years ago when I worked downtown. My next appointment was set and I've had Anh doing my hair ever since. She is well-educated and continues to keep up with the trends in the industry. The shop has undergone some renovations, a tribute to Anh's quest for setting her shop apart from others, and is a comfortable setting each time I go. I really enjoy the scalp massage during the shampooing.


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

Great color and cut, very friendly staff, reasonably priced

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

05/18/2007 Posted by mirjana

Ann is great! Every time I've been there she has done a great job on my hair -- color and cut. I have had many disappointing experiences before coming to this salon. Ann is very personable, and committed to make her customers pleased with the results. My first time at the salon, Ann and Shawn had to spend lot of time on color correction and did an awesome job of getting the color and style I wanted – very trendy and fashionable. I have been going there ever since. Thanks Ann :-)


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

Best salon in town!!!!

5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

04/24/2007 Posted by yllari

I have been a client of Hair and Color Salon since 1999, I used to live in downtown San Jose and work across the street from the Salon, having emigrated from Peru it was hard for me to find somebody to cut and style my hair the way I was used to. I was pleasently surprised of the excelent service and friendly staff and best of all the way my hair looks everytime I visit them. Ahn is a genious! I moved to Morgan Hill 3 years ago and I still drive to San Jose anytime I need a haircut, a facial or just some R&R. Ahn and her staff make you feel like you are their number one priority, even my husband loves having his hair cut with them!

Pros: Excellent service, professional staff

Cons: Parking


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

SO IN LOVE WITH MY HAIR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I was highly recommended by a family member to Hair Color Salon. I've been to many diffrent stylist but never as satisfied as I am now. I had an appointment with Anh for a hair consultation for the Japanese Hair Straightening, At first I was a little nervous considering my hair is very important to me. Anh made me feel really comfortable. Before I did the straightening my hair was thick and frizzy when it dried, I would always wear it up in a bun.Now it's beautiful and I love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Not only is it straight and shiny , but it looks natural as well. It's very easy to manage and style now. NO MORE FRIZZZZZ I've finally found my hair stylist. Thanks Anh you did a great job!

  • Pros: Many services provided
  • Overall user rating: Highly Recommended


Great customer service

I have been going to Vivian for over a year now and have been very satisfied with her work. She offers her honest professional opinion about the best color and shades for highlights and she has always been right! I often get compliments on my hair and I have referred many friends to her. I recommend going to Vivian especially if you are thinking of coloring or getting highlights for the first time. She has a really great eye for color and detail.

  • Pros: Validation for parking at San Pedro Square, friendly service from staff
  • Cons: Parking can get tricky sometimes
  • Overall user rating: Recommended


  5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

my hair have never been more straighten!!

Vivian is the very BEST in the trade when it comes to professional straightening! I had never tried anything like this before and all I can say is that this has totally and completely changed my life! I am no longer a "slave" to my hair. Now getting ready for my busy day is a snap and my hair always looks and feels great with very little maintenance I might add! Rainy weather, humid weather now mean nothing to me as my hair still looks great no matter what kind of weather we're having! I've been a faithful client of Vivian since she first straightened my hair four years ago and see her every 6 months when it's time for my touch up. She's awesome!

  • Pros: Great customer service! thanks
  • Cons: the end results is fantastic
  • Overall user rating: Highly Recommended


This is the BEST full service salon in San Jose. Period.

I am extremely picky and have switched stylists frequently up until now, but I absolutely love this place and I hope I never have to find another salon. I have been going here for 6 years! I used to drive down from San Francisco when I was living there to get my hair cut here!! Hahn (pronounced like "hand" without the "d") does a great job on my nails (gels), and once I switched to Anh (Ann) for my hair I've never gone back. She's the only stylist who has never told me I needed to cut my long hair!! She also doesn't get mad when I don't know how to tell her what I want, she just does a great job. Anh has great range, I have seen people with all styles of hair there: short, long, curly, straight, trendy, classic. You name it. And the cuts are very economical - approx. $40. She and Vivian are expert colorists, they'll have you cut, colored and dried before you know what happened and you'll leave looking absolutely FABULOUS!! I have recommended countless people there and do so every time someone compliments my hair cut, which is fairly often. I have done tanning there, and I buy most of my products there as they give great advice on their styling and hair care products. The environment is very friendly and fun, NOT stuffy or gossipy, and they are all excellent at what they do. Also, for men, there is a great stylist named Sean who is very fashion forward and will do a great job for you. I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Pros: They will reimburse you for parking at the San Pedro Square Garage. Bring your ticket.
  • Cons: Color isn't not cheap, but is it anywhere?
  • Overall user rating: Highly Recommended


 5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended 

I have never left HCS unsatisfied, THANKS VIVIAN

I've lived in the bay area for a little over 3 years and have been searching for a hair colorist in that time and have had a lot of hair failures, until I went to Vivian @ the Hair Color Salon. Having natural DARK brown hair, then dying it blonde, dying it black, highlighting, then dying black again, I HAD A LOT OF BLACK DYE, and we all know black is the hardest color to remove from hair. I finally decided to go to Vivian (for almost a year now) and she has managed to get me to a lighter brown (80% of my hair) with blonde highlights. A MIRACLE!!!! Vivian is such a pleasure to be around and pays attention to ALL DETAIL. My first time was to just get streaks added (ones that were subdtle and blended, not chunky) there must have been HUNDREDS of mini streaks of blonde, but the 2nd time to touch them up she made sure to find each and EVERY streak to touch them up, now THATS dedication to hair!!! To sum up this review; I will be moving to Sacramento in a few months & will STILL continue to make a drive to San Jose to have Vivian cut and color my hair! Thanks Vivian, for making my once boring and bland black hair into beautiful locks! YOU'RE THE BEST!

  • Pros: validated parking, great staff, great location, all pro's.
  • Cons: N/A
  • Overall user rating: Highly Recommended


Looking for a stylist in downtown San Jose?

Vivian is a very talented master stylist at Hair Color Salon. She pays close attention to details and take her time to do a good job. I went in to get a Japanese hair straightening procedure and left with perfectly straight hair that is tamed, shiny, and soft. The quality product she use is straight from Japan and gives great end results to most hair types. Vivian is also extremely knowledgeable and a lot of experience in her field of work. She is also one of the most patient stylist i ever met . When i was there i notice they also do nails and everyone there is very friendly. Thank you Vivian for working on my hair and making it so manageable i only have to spend less than 5 minutes on styling time in the morning.

  • Pros: location, service
  • Overall user rating: Highly Recommended


What a great bunch of people.

They always make my pampering sessions so much more enjoyable than the run of the mill salon. I had the Yuko Japanese hair straightening done over 6 months ago and still absolutely love the results. Born with very think wavy hair my daily styling ragmen was unreal prior to the straightening process. Now I’ve found that with as little as five minutes of primping I can achieve a polished professional look that lasts all day. Gone are the King Tut frizzy hair days. The humidity is no longer a factor and I don’t worry when rain is in the forecast. Thank you so much, Anh, I'm still love'n the results!

  • Pros: Professional Friendly Staff, Fantastic Results, ,
  • Cons: Parking, ,
  • Overall user rating: Recommended


The best hair salon in the bay area

I have been going to the Hair Color Salon for 8 ys. Everytime I leave the shop I feel great and and very exited about my hair. Everyone is friendly and it is amaving what Hair Color Salon could do for you. When you walk into the shop and you will always want to come back. Thank you Hair Color Salon for making me look like a star!! Arlene Hernandez, San Jose, CA

  • Pros: , ,
  • Cons: , ,
  • Overall user rating: Highly Recommended


Great hair cut

I have been getting my haircut at HCS for many years and I have always been happy with the cut. Good haircut and friendly folks. . They also give me free tanning when I get my haircut.

  • Pros: Nice place, ,
  • Cons: Parking sometimes hard, ,
  • Overall user rating: Highly Recommended


  5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended

You'll love your hair!!

Because of rapidly greying locks my hair had developed an overall drab and lifeless color. A good friend recommended Ahn. I'm so glad I found her. She is an expert colorist and made my hair look shinyand healthy again. And no more grey! Ahn also gives great cuts. Recently, I brought my 94 old neighbor with me as well. She loved her cut. The two of us waltzed out of Hair Color Salon feeling great!

  • Pros: , ,
  • Cons: , ,
  • Overall user rating: Highly Recommended


I Love my Hair!

I am so happy to find Anh at the Hair Color Salon to hilite my hair. I have been comming to her for the last 6 years and I am very happy with what she does to my hair everytime. She is very creative and so fun to talk to. With my long hair it is hard to keep it healthy with all my blonde hilites, but Anh is so amazing she keeps it healthy and beautiful.

  • Pros: Friendly poeple and great atmosphere, ,
  • Cons: , ,
  • Overall user rating: Highly Recommended


5 Star Rating: Highly Recommended  

Best hair color and cut anywhere!

If you want a haircut or to color your hair, there are hundreds of places in the south bay area to go to. If you want a color artist and expert in creating a look that is better than you pictured yourself, go to Anh. She does amazing work. It is a bit of a drive for me so I have in the past, gotten lazy and gone somewhere closer to home or worse, gotten the idea I can do it myself. Without fail, I end driving with my baseball cap on back to Ahns swearing I will never do that again. I would drive across country to have her do my hair. I have removed all scissors from my house and intend to have Ahn maintain my hair forever. What else? – she is a really nice person. She could make more money as a psychotherapist, but I am glad she chose hair. Debbie Acosta (408) 505-4252

  • Pros: , ,
  • Cons: , ,
  • Overall user rating: Highly Recommended


Great hair cut and color

Anh gave me a great haircut and color. I like the look that she gave me and the color looks very natural. grey hair blended away in a way that is not obvious.

  • Pros: great haircut and color, ,
  • Cons: , ,
  • Overall user rating: Highly Recommended


 As seen on: CitySearch

February 27, 2006The best Japanese hair straightening!

By a Yahoo! Local user
Overall: 5
Ambiance:5
Cleanliness:5
Service:5
Value:5

During my regular visits to the Hair Color Salon, Anh does a great job of working on my unmanageable hair. Because of its heavy texture and wave, there is a lot of time and effort spent blow drying and flat ironing to make my hair look decent. I decided to try Japanese hair straightening. Anh and her team of specialists transformed my thick, coarse and wavy hair into a smooth and sleek style! I feel as if I have a new head of hair that is so soft, silky and healthy! Plus I save so much time not having to fuss with my hair as it seems to just fall into place. This is the best salon if you're looking to transform your unruly hair. Not only will you be thrilled with the results, but you will leave feeling well pampered and cared for by everyone in the salon!

February 25, 2006Would never go anywhere else

By laney_lizzie
Overall: 5
Ambiance:5
Cleanliness:5
Service:5
Value:5

Ahn Le has been styling my hair for over 12 years and I would never go anywhere else. Anh has changed my hair styles and colors over the years and each time it gets better and better. Anh's shop offers other services, such as manicures and pedicures, tanning, facials, and massages. She has a full service salon with a neighborhood feeling and modest prices.

February 23, 2006I finally found the best hair salon in the bay

By lilly_2164
Overall: 5
Ambiance:5
Cleanliness:5
Service:5
Value:5

I've been to many hair salon before but never found one where I can completely feel so comfortable and satisfied as at HAIR COLOR SALON. I walk in and being treated with a cheerful atmostphere, warm greeting, very good services provided and walk out with a nice and fresh looking that make me satisfied and happy everytime. At HAIR COLOR SALON I can trust all the hairdressers who provide the service to me, I don't have to worry at all. What comes to mind when a new hairdresser never color or cut your hair before now he/she gives you the service? The annswer is I am worried and wondering whether she/he know what she/he is doing or not. At HAIR COLOR SALON no need to worry. They all are knowledgeable of what they do. Being patient with client is one of their best customer service as well. HAIR COLOR SALON is a place that makes you smile.

January 06, 2006Can't wait to go back!

By sarah_ziegler79
Overall: 5
Ambiance:5
Cleanliness:5
Service:5
Value:4

I was looking for a hair salon that was nearby and this one was the first one that was listed in my area. Vivian did a great job on my hair cut, color and highlights. I will definitely go back again to get my highlights lighter. I would definitely recommend this salon. The pricing is reasonable also.

Visit date: January 2006

October 26, 2005Extremely skillful color, highlighting, cut

By evdrewry
Overall: 5
Ambiance:5
Cleanliness:5
Service:5
Value:5

When newly arrived in San Jose, I looked high and low for a salon that could work with my fine hair, providing color and highlights, as well as a low-maintenance, stylish cut. Lucky me, I found Ahn and her team at Hair Color Salon near my office in downtown San Jose. Ahn is terrific--I always loved the results. Great manicures too!

Visit date: September 2005

October 26, 2005I'll always be a loyal customer!

By This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Overall: 5
Ambiance:5
Cleanliness:5
Service:5
Value:5

I highly recommend Hair Color Salon to anyone without hesitation. I've been a loyal customer for years because it's a perfect combination of great cuts, great color and friendly service. Ahn and her staff spend as much time, effort and attention as necessary to make sure I leave happy and extremely satisfied. They are incredibly accommodating to each and every customer. What you get here is good quality and great service!

May 18, 2005Great Salon!

By Yahoo! Reviewer
Overall: 5

Pros: Great service, friendly atmosphere

I have had nothing but great experiences at the Hair Color Salon. Not only have I had my hair highligted terrifically, but have had great conversations with the hair stylists as well.

 As seen on: Yahoo! Local